19 Comments

Why the Office of Letters and Light Has Made My Life So Much Better.


When I first participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time last year, I finally realized that I do have what it takes to be a hardcore novelist.

With only a little mote than a month until NaNoWriMo in November, I thought I’d take a minute to explain why I’m even here.

Here being this blog, I mean.

I’ve seen myself as a writer since the third grade, when a friend of mine and myself wrote together on a book called White Roses. We didn’t finish it, not did we ever finish our other collabarative piece, Vanakameena. But it was then that I began to think of myself as a writer.

I never finished anything, though. Ever, really. So when I participated in NaNo for the first time last year, I was excited and determined to win.

So I pantsed my novel, and I failed. Pretty epically, actually. I fell about 10k short.

Discouraged, I saved my unfinished manuscript in a place where I wouldn’t have to think about it. I didn’t touch it again until sometime about halfway through January.

I finished it at the end of February. I was so freakin’ proud of myself. Like, you don’t even know.

So, I set it aside, and did Script Frenzy. And, miraculously, I won. And even better, it wasn’t even all that bad.

And so I set that aside, and paitently waited for Camp NaNo July, which I BEAT LIKE A BOSS. Like, I WAS A FREAKING BEAST. It amazed me.

And July’s novel was even better than my Screnzy!

I tried for August, but I think that I was just burnt out, or my story didn’t have enough plot for my tastes. Either way, I failed at that. But it was good. :D

((Of course I couldn’t do it without the support of my family and my WWAW family, too(: <3 I love you guys))

But, over the course of the last eleven months, I’ve become an honest-to-goodness novelist! And an even better writer than I’ve ever dreamed of becoming.

So, as I plan for this November, I just want to say thank you to all of the amazing people at OLL and my hero, Chris Baty. So yeah. Thanks(:

Much love,

Fee(:

19 comments on “Why the Office of Letters and Light Has Made My Life So Much Better.

  1. WWAW? What Would Angotti Write?

  2. That is such an epic story :) Mine went something like that but over the course of about four years. I’m sooo excited for NaNoWriMo as well. Here’s to the novelists of the world!

  3. What exactly is NaNoWriMo? I’m seeing it all over the place. (Please don’t jump down my throat for asking… I just thought I’d say please. You don’t have to obey if you don’t want to.) Is it some sort of writing thing? In November? For novels? (I believe I just guessed…)

    • Lol. http://www.nanowrimo.org is the offical website. And you did pretty much just guess. NaNoWriMo is a yearly “competition” of sorts, which challenges writers to create a 50,000-word novel in the course of 30 days (in November). Some people aim for more, but not me(: Check it out, it’s actually really stressful and REALLY fun<3 (Please?)

      • My second guess was that it had something to do with Nailed Norwegians Writhing Momentarily, which didn’t really make sense. The real thing though– is it completely online?

        • 100% online. You just write the words in your Word Processing Program of choice, and then validate it on the website.
          Easy and safe, especially if you scramble the letters so that no one reads it. Not that they ever read it anyway. >.< It's amazing.

      • How does it work, then, if they don’t read it? I’m confused, which only happens rarely, and even then I’m the one confusing myself.

        • It’s a word counter that they have– You valiadate that you have at least 50,000 words, and then you win. That’s pretty much it.
          See, it doesn’t have to be 50,000 words of good fiction– it just has to be 50,000 words.

      • So it could be 50000 words of complete insanity (my personal specialty), or bad spelling, or complete nonsense? By the way, did Lewis Carroll compete in this?

      • Lewis Carrol Dies in like… 18something. This was created in the early 90s.

  4. That is so awesome for you! Congrats on finishing up Script Frenzy, I have yet to actually try that one! And Camp nano this year, man I have been so lax!

    This will be my…. 6? I think so. 6th year of doing Nano this november and I am just now starting to get anxious about it! But I will conquer it, as i have in the past, and so will you!

    Great blog, look forward to reading more of your stuff!

  5. Nano deffinitly changed me. It proved that all the raw stuff in my head could be shapped into something. And Vonekemena was Boss. :)

Love it? Hate it? Say so. Right here.

