12 Comments

The Great Debate.


For those of us who do NaNoWriMo, I’m sure you have your own opinion on the Great Debate– Plotting Vs. Pantsing.

Being a now two-time WriMo (which I am so, so, so, so, so proud of), I just thought I’d toss my hat out to it and write a bit on my opinion.

Last year, I sat down at my computer on November first, and the only thought in my mind was “misunderstood chick with serious abandonment issues”. I built off of that.

I lost. I lost by about 10k, as I may have mentioned before. I hated my story and I had the worst, most random, totally irrelevant scenes in the history of irrelivant scenes. Seriously, guys, it was bad.

I did finish eventually. In February, actually. But that’s not the point. The point is that my story had absolutely nothing to do with nothing, and even now, I haven’t looked back at it, because I’ve never wanted to destory something that I’ve created so freaking much.

So I tossed it aside and promptly forgot about it.

And so, four days before April began, I figured I’d try my hand at script writing and see where it took me. So I sat down for three or four hours, and I made a quick storyboard, trying to figure out how I would time the script, when Act One would turn into Act Two, etc.

And even with just those three or four hours, my Screnzy script (entitled If the Sun Was Red, which featured a MC that died in the first scene) was actually pretty decent. Not in the beginning. But I mean… It got better as the month wore on.

I chalked it up to planning.

So I tried to test my theory when Camp NaNo rolled around. For July, I plotted, only a bit. I had a rough idea of what I wanted the conflict to be. I had some thoughts about where the beginning and middle would lead, and I had a clear storyline developed within a week.

And I won. And oh God, my July novel rocked for a NaNo Novel(:

But I didn’t plan for my August NaNo. At all. It was titled Burn and I worked with whatever came to mind.

And not much came to mind.

So yeah, August Camp sucked.

Anyway. As you can probably tell, I’m a plotter, tried and true. But I know some people *cough Melly and Ice cough cough* that swear by pantsing, and from what I can tell, they make it work.

I suppose it’s just a matter of opinion.

Although I would reccomend trying both(: *coughmywayisbettercoughcough*

FEE LOVES YOU<333

12 comments on “The Great Debate.

  1. Oh god yes. I swear everything to it. Here, lemme fill it in for you.
    Novel one: Saint Pellame. I started the novel on November 1st with these thoughts,
    -Teleporters
    -Gay asian guy
    And a title.
    Novel two: Hiding in Plain Sight.
    I started with gender change, no women rights and a title.
    Three: No Rest for the Weary. I had zombies and a character named Patrick, along with the title that the WWAW helped me pick.
    In short, I cannot start without a title.
    Hahahaha, but, here’s the thing. In May, I planned a huge four book long series, to the nail. Every detail planned out. I got 25k in and quit. Therefore, I believe I can only pants.
    -end rant- ahhaha

    Good luck, Feeboo! Hope my package gets there in time!
    (and if it comes early you have to swear to wait until Nov 1st to open it!)

    • Ooooh! Like I said, I guess it’s just depending on the person(:
      Thank you Mellyboo! I AM SO EXCITED FOR MY PACKAGE, I’M SO EXCITED FOR IT.
      And… And I’ll wait until Nov. 1st. >.< BUT I CANT WAIT.<333

  2. I think it deffinitly depends on the person. If i plan, i chicken out, because nothing will live up to the rough shape in my head. It I don’t plan, I get what I got last November, which didn’t make much sense. At all. For me, it’s a happy medium. I need to know what’s going to happen, *but that’s it*. If I think about it in anymore depth, then it gets completely boring for me to write it.

  3. I’m a completely spontaneous writer. I plan a very rough outline, so I have an end, but nothing farther than that.

  4. My first Nano (2005!!! :O ) I planned. I had the outline done and figured out and even had it marked out to the point where each outline point was going to be 2k words a piece and that would get me through the finish line.

    I got to 55k that year and only made it about 1/3 of the way through the outline. The characters took over the story and ran with it.

    Every subsequent year I’ve done as minimal planning as possible, often tossing around a few ideas in my head in the weeks before, but hardly ever ever ever putting them down on paper. Because I will never follow them even if I did.

    Usually, to start, I need to get that all important first sentence. For two weeks prior to Nano (like now!) I will start writing and rewriting that first sentence (sometimes paragraph) in my head, over and over and over until it finally ends up as something that just clicks and then stays.

    So I guess you could say I’m a Pantser. I try to plan, but the characters eat the plan.

    • Lol. Well, characters eating the plan seems pretty normal. I just really want to keep them in check this year, so that I can get some real work done, and have an actual plotline >.<

Love it? Hate it? Say so. Right here.

