38 Comments

Hey Look It’s the 23rd.


In case you didn’t know, the 23rd of a month is always the best day of that month. There are a number of reasons for this, but I don’t really feel like outlining them. Just trust me on this.

In other news! With it being the 23rd of the month of March, and you being writers, the nearest OLL challenge should be in the back of your mind. I am, of course, talking about Camp NaNoWriMo.

Can we all just have a moment of silence for Script Frenzy, please? Okay. Okay. (Maybe my next post will be a Screnzy appreciate post. Yeah, let’s do that.)

Anyway! OLL is hosting Camp NaNo this April. You know the drill – 50k in 30 days (unless the word count goal is adjustable this year, which I’ve heard it is).

I suppose the question now is: are you in?

I, myself, will be hosting my own, private Script Frenzy in honor of my favorite OLL event (though anyone is welcome to join me if they’d like).

The biggest thing is that we write, and we write together. That’s what I love so dearly about the Office of Letters and Light’s events – they bring writers of all experience and skill levels together in order to help them each create something beautiful.

So. Are you participating? Are you plotting or pantsing? What are you writing? I want to hear.

(AND ALSO: WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BOOK(S)? THE REASON FOR MY ASKING IS TO BE ANNOUNCED SO DON’T ASK ANY QUESTIONS, JUST GIMME ALL OF THE GREATS.)

I love you I love you I love you I love you I love you. You guys are all fabulous.

Special shoutout to Sir Liam the Head Phil for never giving up on my blog even when I COMPLETELY FORGET ABOUT POSTING. He’s great. And his blog’s great. And yeah.

~Feebs.

38 comments on “Hey Look It’s the 23rd.

  1. Where’s our post about slut-shaming, darnit?!

  2. Good work, Coffee. I can’t give you my list of favorite books, unfortunately, because I haven’t written them yet. And I can’t say I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo, nor your personal Script Frenzy, because I’m “hard at work” revising my last novel.

    Your next post will be… Wednesday the twenty-seventh.

  3. I’m currently writing a little bit in a rush to finish a story before Camp. Hopefully Camp will let me write the other bunch of stories I have sort-of-prepared, and I’ll have enough time to edit all of that before the end of May.
    I can only hope, so that the precious CreateSpace code won’t go to waste.

    Favourite books? I like Les Miserábles, 1984, Jurassic Park off the top of my head.

  4. For April, I’m continuing last year’s Script Frenzy script, because I never finished rewriting it after I lost the file. So what I’m doing is 100 pages, which works out to 20,000 words, which is the goal I’ve set on the site.

  5. i am participating! but im in europe until the eleventh (school trip, been fundraising for three years) so it’s a late start for me. also, no plot yet, not even a character, which is unnerving but maybe london or berlin will inspire me?

    the skulduggary pleasant series. read it, love it, but don’t live it because you’d die.

  6. Signing up for Camp NaNo! Plan is to get my novel properly redrafted by the time April is over. :)

  7. I’m so excited for Camp NaNoWriMo! I’m actually doing a script AND a novel, hoping it’ll add up to 50k somewhere. My script is for a webcomic I want to do eventually, and I have a story that was destined to be a NaNo novel, because it just makes fun of everything. I’ve been trying different ways to plot lately to see what happens. It’s been an experimental and exciting time recently :) (I just woke up and I’m a bit rambly)

    I have quite a few favorite books! Or rather, favorite series. Is that even the plural for series….
    Anyway, some of them, because I probably will forget some, are:
    Pendragon, by DJ MacHale, which I have mentioned before.
    Morpheus Road, also by DJ MacHale, which has the best ever reference to Pendragon in it so I’ve banned my sister from reading them until she finishes Pendragon.
    Percy Jackson and the Olypmians. Also the sequel series to it, Heroes of Olympus, both by Rick Riordan. I’ve learned most of my Greek mythology from these books. They’re fab.
    The Shadow Children by Margaret Peterson Haddix. NOTHING I LOVE MORE THEN CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS.
    The Missing also by Haddix. OKAY I MAY BE WRONG ABOUT LOVING NOTHING MORE THAN CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS ‘CAUSE TIME TRAVEL.
    Harry Potter because I didn’t expect it to be that good but I cried so… There’s that.
    The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix.
    Keys to the Kingdom also by Garth Nix.

    As for single books, the ones I can think of off the top of my head are:
    The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Feels. Everywhere.
    The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Also feels filled, and I also learned how to swear in German. Plus it has Nazis.
    Alex and the Ironic Gentleman by Adrienne Kress. THIS BOOK HAS THE MOST HILARIOUS NARRATION.

    Okay I can’t see how long this post is on my iPod, but I assume it’s long. Plus I may or may not have my mom yelling at me to clean my room right now so SORRY IT’S SUCH A LONG LIST AND ENJOY. <3

  8. Fee, facebook is telling me that today is your birthday. Since you’re not on very much, I’ll say this here: Happy birthday!

  9. HEEEEEEEEY! You said you would post again!

  10. fapoiihsdvmkldagajgrkmfdafsaajogid!

  11. Obviously not. I call dibs on your blog!

  12. This is getting a little embarrassing. Post. Now.

  13. Don’t even pretend you’re dead, or you don’t have internet access, or the ability to type. I know you do. So post. It doesn’t matter if it’s a single sentence, or even a single word, but I want a post. Here, I’ll coach you through it: create a new post, ignore the title, write “I’m not dead” in the body of the post. No categories or tags, just hit Publish. Then I’ll gladly give you a week or two or three off.

  14. Seriously, Fee, where have you been? I demand to know where you are.

  15. I totally forgot: in this very post, you said you were doing Camp this month. My apologies. If you wanted this month off, all you had to do was say so.

Love it? Hate it? Say so. Right here.

