7 Comments

An Adulthood Appreciation Post


My dearest, dearest friend Melly is officially an adult, and due to that fact, this post is dedicated to and in appreciation of her.

Things That People Can Do When They Become Adults

  • Live in your own place, in which you can buy your own food (not gross stuff that your parents buy) and play video games all day without the silent judgement of your mother(s)/father(s)
  • Throw wild Skype-parties in which you can Skype with friends overseas because if you’re anything like me, dear reader, you have no friends who aren’t met virtually.
  • Watch weird TV shows/anime for days on end, once again without bearing the silent disapproval of parent-figures
  • Be bossed around by college professors who can’t even remember your name
  • Pay bills with money that you have to earn all by yourself
  • Spend a million hours studying because their moms aren’t around to tell them “You need to take a break, if you keep studying your brain is explode.” (That’s how my mom gets me to stop studying lately, anyway)
  • Introduce weird and potentially awkward dynamics into your personal relationships
  • Be much more legally responsible and refrain from doing illegal things because you can now be officially tried as an adult
  • Pay taxes
  • Stay out until six in the morning doing god-knows-what and not have to explain yourself to anybody
  • Finally decide what you want to spend the rest of your life doing, (and probably continue to un-make-up your mind and re-make-up your mind until you come across what you actually want)
  • Cook for yourself, and perhaps finally learn the art of ordering take-out
  • Lots of bad things
  • Lots of good things
  • Lots of stuff
  • Seems like it’s just a lot of the same stuff we’ve been doing for years, huh?

Seriously, guys, don’t listen to me. I’m just a fifteen year old girl with glasses and big hair who thinks she’s cool because she takes three AP classes. I don’t even think my brain functions properly anymore unless I’m being tested on the lies in my World History textbook.

Don’t become an adult. I bet it sucks. I’m never going to grow up.

~Feebs

7 comments on “An Adulthood Appreciation Post

  1. Very good post, and good on you for being on time! I’m glad you found the time to post.

    Also, I’m glad you agree with Peter Pan and millions of other adolescents– growing up is useless. It’s better to be a genius level teenager than to actually have people expect things from you.

  2. ALRIGHT LETS DO THIS

    Live in your own place, in which you can buy your own food (not gross stuff that your parents buy) and play video games all day without the silent judgement of your mother(s)/father(s)

    i am living in my own place! i am also currently eating gumballs for lunch. not sorry. and i go on tumblr all day so ill count that, and my parents dont know that i do that so no judgement!

    Throw wild Skype-parties in which you can Skype with friends overseas because if you’re anything like me, dear reader, you have no friends who aren’t met virtually.

    hmmmmmm if i reinstalled skype i could do that but IM SO AWKWARD ON SCREEN ITS AWFUL

    Watch weird TV shows/anime for days on end, once again without bearing the silent disapproval of parent-figures

    i just watched all of the anime Free! instead of my psychology homework so yes yes yes

    Be bossed around by college professors who can’t even remember your name

    NOBODY TELL ME WHAT TO DO
    …cept them, so yeah, true as well

    Pay bills with money that you have to earn all by yourself

    IM RUNNING OUT OF GUMBALL MONEY

    Spend a million hours studying because their moms aren’t around to tell them “You need to take a break, if you keep studying your brain is explode.” (That’s how my mom gets me to stop studying lately, anyway)

    ask me again around exams ;_;

    Introduce weird and potentially awkward dynamics into your personal relationships

    0_0

    Be much more legally responsible and refrain from doing illegal things because you can now be officially tried as an adult

    dammit now i cant rob banks

    Pay taxes

    i suck at this

    Stay out until six in the morning doing god-knows-what and not have to explain yourself to anybody

    I GOT FOUR HOURS OF SLEEP LAST NIGHT AND HAD TO GET UP AT SEVEN NEVER GROW UP FEE

    Finally decide what you want to spend the rest of your life doing, (and probably continue to un-make-up your mind and re-make-up your mind until you come across what you actually want)

    i have no idea. NONE AT ALL

    Cook for yourself, and perhaps finally learn the art of ordering take-out

    ive made a lot of bacon, and twenty second microwavable hot dogs

    Lots of bad things

    everyone i know drinks all the time and i dont lol

    Lots of good things

    people talk to me like im adult and university is really fucking fun and i joined a gay club and ive met so so many cool people and

    Lots of stuff

    i rode the train with my brother back and forth for two hours just because we can

    thanks for the dedication lovely, made my week
    <3<3<3<3
    mucho guapo
    mells

    • YOU’VE NEVER BEEN AWKWARD ON SCREEN IN YOUR LIFE. You used to get onscreen back when The Chat was in TinyChat. I remember that because you weren’t awkward.

      Gumballs for lunch is my usual too. Shh

      Don’t rob banks yourself. You can make a plan, and I’ll carry it out. Deal? Deal.

      I WANT TO BE TALKED TO LIKE AN ADULT. Except I don’t actually want to be an adult. So I’m in a bit of a rut there.

      I’m so glad it made your week, I love you bunches. <3

Love it? Hate it? Say so. Right here.

